Women’s IPL will take place in March with 5 teams, maximum 5 foreign players in XI: report

The highly anticipated inaugural edition of Women’s IPL will feature five teams and will take place in March 2023 before the Men’s IPL kicks off. According to a BCCI note that PTI has access to, the tournament will feature 20 league matches with teams playing against each other twice. The table toppers get direct entry to the final, while the second and third place teams compete in the Eliminator. Each team cannot have more than five foreign cricketers in the playing eleven. “In order to have a good balance between national and international players and to have competitive teams, it has been decided for the time being to have five teams for WIPL. Each team can have a maximum of eighteen players, while no team can have more than six foreign players. to have.

“Furthermore, no more than five foreign players — four of the full members of the ICC and one of the associate members of the ICC — may be part of each team’s playing XI,” the BCCI memorandum reads.

The Women’s Big Bash League in Australia and The Hundred in the UK allow no more than three foreign players and have a team size of 15.

The board also thinks that with a limited number of teams, the home-and-away format will not be feasible. The event is expected to take place shortly after the Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa from February 9-26.

“Like IPL, it will be challenging to play in a home-away format in WIPL as it will not be possible with five to six teams to have a match every day. It is suggested that caravan-style tournaments could be played, where after ten matches in one location and the next ten matches played in the next location.

“Therefore, ten games each will be played at two locations in the 2023 WIPL season, ten each at the next two locations in the 2024 season, and for the 2025 season, ten games at one location and ten remain at one of the locations from the end of the season.” season 2023.” As far as the sales of teams are concerned, it can be done zone by zone with the board shortlisting two cities for each zone: Dharamsala/Jammu (North Zone), Pune/Rajkot (West), Indore/Nagpur/Raipur (Central), Ranchi /Cuttack (East), Kochi/Vizag (South) and Guwahati (North-East).

“Alternatively, teams can be sold in WIPL and matches can take place in a location where IPL matches are currently being held.” Those major cities are Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Kolkata and Mumbai. After the first announcement about IPL for women, it was widely reported that IPL owners will be given the first right of refusal over procurement teams.

The final call on all matters related to IPL for women will be made by the IPL Board of Directors and BCCI officials.

Calls for a women’s IPL-style competition grew louder with the game’s growth in India fueled by the team’s second-place finish in 2017. WBBL has been taking place in Australia since 2016, while the Hundred was held in Australia last year. UK was introduced. Pakistan has also announced a women’s competition for next year.

“There has been an overall 111% increase in player participation in various categories over the past eight years.

“In the senior category for women, there is a 129% increase, while in the U-19 category it has increased,” according to the BCCI note on the growth of the game in India.

(This story was not edited by NDTV staff and was generated automatically from a syndicated feed.)

Leave a Comment