Roger Binny to replace Sourav Ganguly as BCCI president

Roger Binny, the former Indian all-rounder, will become the new BCCI president, replacing Sourav Ganguly, who is no longer expected to hold a position on the board of directors. Binny will take charge on October 18, when the BCCI Annual General Meeting will be held in Mumbai.

Jay Shah, son of Indian Home Affairs Minister Amit Shah, remains BCCI secretary, the most influential position on the board of directors. Rajiv Shukla will also remain as vice president of the council.

Along with Binny, there will be two newcomers to the new government: Ashish Shelar, who served as president of the Mumbai Cricket Association between 2017 and 2019, will be the treasurer, and Devajit Saikia, currently secretary of the Assam Cricket Association, will be the joint secretary. .

Another key appointment is that of Arun Dhumal, who is about to take over as the new IPL chairman, a position held since 2019 by the former Indian batter Brijesh Patel, who will be forced to leave the seat because he will soon be 70. [on November 24]. That is the maximum age limit allowed for an office holder or administrator in the BCCI statutes.

Dhumal, who became a BCCI official during Ganguly’s government, is the brother of former board chairman Anurag Thakur, the current minister of sports and youth in India’s central government.

As a formality, Dhumal will initially have to compete for a position as a member of the IPL Board of Directors. Avishek Dalmiya, the son of former BCCI and ICC chief executive Jagmohan Dalimya, will also join the board of directors. Avishek, the president of the Cricket Association of Bengal, will replace Khairul Majumdar, who will be nominated as the BCCI’s general representative on the Apex Council on board.

Binny, 67, has extensive experience in cricket administration. He has held various positions with the Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) over the years and has been its chairman since 2019. Before that, Binny was also part of the KSCA administrations led by Patel and Anil Kumble (2010-12).

ESPNcricinfo has learned that Binny has so far been the only candidate for the position of chairman of the BCCI, as the nomination deadline ended on Wednesday for the five office holders, who were meant to be contested in the October 18 board election. . hold, there will be no election for a position after the top of the BCCI, including Ganguly, along with senior past and present directors of prominent state associations, have finalized a shortlist of people who will hold key positions in the BCCI over a series of meetings in Delhi last week and one on Monday night in Mumbai.

Those in attendance at these meetings included former BCCI President and ICC President N Srinivasan, former BCCI Secretary Niranjan Shah, former BCCI Treasurer Anirudh Chaudhry, and Delhi & Districts Association President Rohan Jaitley.

The age limit rule, which has led to the end of Patel’s run, will also limit 1983 World Cup winner Binny’s tenure to one three-year term.

This is despite the fact that the Supreme Court has recently watered down several recommendations of the RM Lodha Commission. Including the major, that an office holder who has held a position in the BCCI for two consecutive terms will not be eligible for further elections in the BCCI without undergoing a three-year cooling-off period. Also, if a person has served two consecutive terms, each in a state association and in the BCCI, or vice versa, without any interruption [12 years in total]such person will not be eligible to contest further elections in a state association or in the BCCI, without having undergone a three-year cooling-off period.

That was an amendment to its 2018 judgment, which stated that an office holder would have to serve a three-year cooling-off period after serving six years with a state association and/or the BCCI.

If that rule hadn’t been changed, the entire array of office holders in the Ganguly administration would have been ineligible to work in any capacity in the BCCI.

However, people like Shah can now carry on until 2025. He had taken over as BCCI secretary in 2019, when Ganguly was elected president, following the first board elections since the Supreme Court imposed a new constitution, drafted according to the Lodha Recommendations. of the committee, which were intended to review the structure and functioning of BCCI.

Nagraj Gollapudi is news editor at ESPNcricinfo

Leave a Comment