MS Dhoni’s landmark, Umran Malik’s second fastest delivery in history, David Warner’s achievement and other statistics

With eight wins, Gujarat Titans are in the lead at the top, while five-time champions are still bottoming out with just two wins.

Ishan Kishan and Rohit Sharma. (Photo source: IPL/BCCI)

The 15th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) has nearly reached the end of its business as there are still a handful of games left for each franchise. Like every season, IPL has provided a lot of entertainment, surprises, shocks and fun to all cricket fans around the world. Two of the most decorated and successful teams in the tournament’s history, Mumbai Indians (MI) and Chennai Super Kings (CSK), have struggled, while the new franchises Gujarat Titans (GT) and Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) have been extraordinary. have performed well.

In the sixth week of IPL 2022, the biggest news came from the CSK camp when Ravindra Jadeja decided to step down as captain. On April 30, 2022, news broke that Jadeja has decided to relinquish the captaincy in order to focus on his game. CSK fans cherished the news as MS Dhoni once again assumed the leadership role. To the delight of all Men in Yellow fans, all-rounder Jadeja gave the reins back to Dhoni.

During the past week, MI finally opened their account as they recorded their first win of the season beating Rajasthan Royals (RR). Virat Kohli struggled to shape this campaign and got into some sort of momentum again when he scored his first fifty of the season against Gujarat Titans (GT). After suffering five consecutive defeats, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) finally took a win when they crossed the line against RR.

In terms of milestones, MS Dhoni appeared in his 200th IPL game for CSK as he became only the second player after Virat Kohli to play 200 or more games for a single franchise. David Warner surpassed Chris Gayle (88) and now has the most half-centuries (89) in all T20 cricket. Speaking of the points table, GT leads the top spot with 16 points, while MI languishes in tenth with only four points on the bottom.

Let’s take a look at some of the key stats and records from the sixth week of the Indian Premier League 2022:

102 – Hardik Pandya appeared in his 100th IPL match.

8017 – Glenn Maxwell reached the 8,000-run milestone in T20 cricket. He became the fourth Australian after David Warner, Aaron Finch and Shane Watson to achieve the feat.

5 – GT equaled Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) for winning the most chases (5) in the final in a season. CSK did it in the year 2018 while RR did the same in 2019.

588 – Jos Buttler has now scored the most runs (566) for RR in an IPL season. He surpassed Ajinkya Rahane’s total of 560 runs he scored in the year 2012.

101 – Kieron Pollard reached the 100-catch milestone in the IPL. He became only the second fielder after Suresh Raina (109) to deliver the feat.

2 – Buttler is now in second place alongside Chris Gayle in 2011, David Warner in 2019 and KL Rahul in 2020 for fastest to 500 runs in a season. Buttler, along with the other three, achieved the feat in nine innings, while Virat Kohli tops the list, scoring 500 runs in eight innings in 2016.

18 – Rohit Sharma has now played 18 games without half a century in the IPL.

154 – KL Rahul reached the milestone of 150 sixes in the IPL. He became the fastest Indian to achieve the feat in 95 innings. Sanju Samson had reached 150 maximums in 125 innings.

52 – Deepak Hooda recorded the first half century by an LSG player at No. three this season. The previous best score was 38 from Manish Pandey against Mumbai Indians (MI).

182 – Devon Conway and Ruturaj Gaikwad registered the highest partnership (182) for each wicket for CSK in the IPL. The previous highest was 181* between Faf du Plessis and Shane Watson against Punjab Kings in 2020.

4 – Devon Conway and Ruturaj Gaikwad scored the fourth-highest opening partnership of 182 runs in IPL history.

1104 – Gaikwad reached the 1000-run milestone in the IPL. Together with Sachin Tendulkar, he is now the fastest Indian to achieve the result in 31 innings.

5 – Gaikwad became the fifth batter to be fired on 99 runs in the IPL.

1 – For the first time in ten innings, Sanju Samson crossed the 30-ball mark in one innings this IPL season. He previously had to deal with 27 balls in RR’s opening game against Sunrisers Hyderabad.

20 – KKR has now used 20 players in this IPL campaign, the most from any team. Mumbai Indians are in second place for 19 player usage.

9 – Samson has lost nine and won only one coin toss in IPL 2022.

53 – Umesh Yadav equaled Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Sandeep Sharma (53) and all three are now joint top for taking the most wickets (53) in the power play in the IPL.

185 – Shimron Hetmyer has scored 185 runs in 86 deliveries this season with a strike rate of 215.11 in the last four overs this season, which is the most of any player. Dinesh Karthik is in second place scoring 174 points.

2 – Shreyas Iyer is one of two batters with Deepak Hooda to have scored ten or more runs in each of the ten innings this season.

11.42 – Jonny Bairstow has scored 80 runs in seven innings this season averaging just 11.42.

3 – Kagiso Rabada surpassed Amit Mishra (5) and now ranks third for the most four-wicket-hauls (6) in the competition. Sunil Narine and Lasith Malinga are in the top two with eight and seven such draws respectively.

13 – Shikhar Dhawan equaled Rohit Sharma (13) for the most 300-plus runs in an IPL edition.

117 – Liam Livingstone defeated Mohammed Shami for the biggest six (117m) of this campaign. Dewald Brevis had reached the maximum of 112m for Mumbai Indians against Rahul Chahar of PBKS.

200 – MS Dhoni appeared in the 200th game for CSK in the IPL. After Virat Kohli, he became only the second player to play 200 or more games for a single franchise. Kohli has played 218 games for the Bangalore-based franchise.

326 – Kohli, who tied with Suresh Raina (325) has now crushed Indians’ second most sixes (326) in T20 cricket. Rohit Sharma tops the list for reaching 431 maximums.

23 – Wanindu Hasaranga has the most sixes (23) conceded by a bowler in IPL 2022. Lockie Ferguson is behind him for leaking 20 maximums.

89 – David Warner surpassed Chris Gayle (88) and now has the most fifties (89) scored by a batter in all T20 cricket.

157.0 – Umran Malik threw a lightning bolt of 157 km/h against Delhi Capitals, the second fastest ball in IPL history. Shaun Tait had bowled at a speed of 157.3 km/h.

100 – David Miller appeared in his 100e IPL competition.

201 – Rohit Sharma reached the milestone of 200 sixes for MI in all T20 cricket. He became the second batter after Kieron Pollard (257) to achieve this feat.

14.33 – Kieron Pollard has scored 129 runs in ten innings with an average of only 14.33 and the highest score of only 25 this season.

1 – Gujarat Titans lost their first game in six games in a run chase. They won all of their previous five encounters while chasing the target.

Leave a Comment