IPL live score, RCB vs PBKS scorecard: du Plessis, Rawat start vigilant in PowerPlay

Hello and welcome to Sportstar’s live coverage of the IPL 2022 match between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Punjab Kings.

RCB 12/0 in 2 overs: Arshdeep Singh to share the new ball. Admits 5wide’s first pitch. Faf on strike. Admits 4 legbyes from the second ball. Quirky start from the left arm. Good comeback from the youngster. A wide of what would have been the last ball. Point to finish.

RCB 1/0 in 1 about: Faf du Plessis and Anuj Rawat open for RCB. Sandeep Sharma with the new ball. Well-maintained start. Four dots. Runs first off the bat for Faf as he leads the fifth ball to the third man for a single. Point to finish.

TOSS UPDATE: Mayank Agarwal has won the toss and Punjab Kings will bowl first.

Royal Challengers Bangalore (11 playing): Faf du Plessis(c), Virat Kohli, Anuj Rawat, Dinesh Karthik(w), Shelfane Rutherford, Shahbaz Ahmed, Wanindu Hasaranga, David Willey, Harshal Patel, Akash Deep, Mohammed Siraj

Punjab Kings (play 11): Mayank Agarwal(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Liam Livingstone, Bhanuka Rajapaksa(w), Shahrukh Khan, Odean Smith, Raj Bawa, Arshdeep Singh, Harpreet Brar, Sandeep Sharma, Rahul Chahar

PITCH UPDATE: “Reasonable amount of grass on the field so it won’t help the spinners much. It also sounds difficult, so it should be good to continue with good varry. The par score would be around 165,” think Darren Ganga and Deep Dasgupta.

First IPL game at DY Patil in 11 years. Just throw it around the corner.


Will a new captain revive his fortune in the Indian Premier League (IPL)? Punjab Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore – the two perennial underperformers in the T20 competition – are hoping for an affirmative answer to the lingering question as they take it up Sunday night in their respective IPL opener.

While RCB fans keep their fingers crossed for Faf du Plessis to carry over his rich legacy from the CSK yellow to the Bangalore red and gold jersey, Punjab is hoping for the Karnataka captain-coach combination of Mayank Agarwal and Anil Kumble to complete its 2022 stay a winning note.

READ † IPL 2022: ‘No home advantage’ as Mumbai Indians take on Delhi Capitals

Despite Virat Kohli having resigned from the captaincy after leading nine editions of RCB, and du Plessis in the spotlight, it will be interesting to see how RCB cope with the absence of its Australian trio in the first two weeks.

Glenn Maxwell, Josh Hazlewood and Jason Behrendorff will miss the opening part due to their international commitments. Punjab is without Nathan Ellis as he is also in Pakistan.

The game will also witness the return of IPL action to the Dr. DY Patil Sports Stadium. After hosting two of the first three IPL finals, the Navi Mumbai stadium last hosted an IPL game in May 2019.


Punjab Kings Team: Mayank Agarwal(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Liam Livingstone, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Shahrukh Khan, Prabhsimran Singh(w), Odean Smith, Harpreet Brar, Arshdeep Singh, Rahul Chahar, Sandeep Sharma, Rishi Dhawan, Benny Howell, Ishan Porel, Nathan Ellis Raj Bawa, Baltej Singh, Writtick Chatterjee, Jitesh Sharma, Prerak Mankad, Atharva Taide, Vaibhav Arora, Ansh Patel

Royal Challengers Bangalore Team: Faf du Plessis(c), Virat Kohli, Anuj Rawat, Shelfane Rutherford, Dinesh Karthik(w), Mahipal Lomror, Wanindu Hasaranga, David Willey, Harshal Patel, Shahbaz Ahmed, Mohammed Siraj, Siddarth Kaul, Karn Sharma, Finn Allen, Suyash Prabhudessai, Luvnith Sisodia, Chama V Milind, Akash Deep, Aneeshwar Gautam

Leave a Comment