Ind tour of England – 2022 – Rohit returns to lead white-ball squads for England series

Rohit Sharma will lead India in the upcoming limited-overs leg of the UK tour. He takes back the mantle from Hardik Pandya, who led India in the two T20Is in Ireland.

Rohit’s absence from the Edgbaston test – due to Covid-19 – will give him plenty of time to recover and rejoin the T20I squad ahead of the series opener in Southampton on July 7.

Had he been available for the test, his participation in the T20I opener might have been a bull’s eye as it starts less than 48 hours after the scheduled completion of the fifth test, which will complete the series that was postponed in the aftermath of covid cases in Indian camp last September.

Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja, who are all part of the Test squad, will rejoin the white-ball lineup for the second and third T20I.

This means there is no place for Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sanju Samson, Venkatesh Iyer and the uncapped duo of Rahul Tripathi and Arshdeep Singh – who are all part of the T20I series opener – in India’s full squad for the rest of the T20I series.

In what may be a sign of continuity ahead of the T20 World Cup in Australia in October, the selectors have omitted Mohammed Shami from the shortest format roster. Shami was the highest wicket taker for IPL 2022 champions Gujarat Titans. He also played in every match of the tournament, taking 20 wickets with an economy of 8.00 and an average of 24.40.

Meanwhile, Arshdeep earned a first ODI call-up for the three-match series, which will also see Shikhar Dhawan back in to potentially open with Rohit. The series also marks Hardik’s return to India’s 50-man roster for the first time since the July 2021 tour of Sri Lanka.

There was also a recall for Shardul Thakur, who played no part in the home series against the West Indies in February, and Axar Patel, who last played an ODI in 2017.

Axar replaces the injured Washington Sundar from India’s previous ODI squad. Washington, who is in his final stages of recovery from a hand injury, may be able to return to competitive cricket for Lancashire later in July, subject to fitness and visa waiver.

Kuldeep Yadav and Deepak Chahar, who were part of India’s previous ODI squad, are out due to injuries. Both players are currently undergoing rehabilitation at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru. Jadeja, meanwhile, is lining up to play his first ODI in over 18 months after being included in the roster for the 50-overs format.

India’s squad for 1st T20I: Rohit Sharma (capt), Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Sanju Samson, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Patmar, Harvne , Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

India’s squad for 2nd and 3rd T20I: Rohit Sharma (capt), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik

India’s squad for ODIs: Rohit Sharma (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, J Bumrah, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammed Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Arshdeep Singh

Shashank Kishore is a senior sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

Leave a Comment