Andre Russell, Moeen Ali and Wanindu Hasaranga at the big ticket signings of the UAE T20 competition

The six franchises in the league – owned by Reliance Industries, Kolkata Knight Riders, Capri Global, GMR, Lancer Capital and Adani Sportsline – will exercise their “direct acquisition” rights to transfer these players they have been in talks with. to take.

At this stage, there are no cricketers from Bangladesh, India and Pakistan in the league’s plans, while Chris Lynn is the only Australian in the mix. While things could change on the Australian, Bangladesh and Indian front – the latter despite the BCCI’s stance against their players competing in foreign competitions, due to the number of teams owned by IPL owners – it is clear that Pakistani cricketers were not involved as they are unlikely to receive NOCs to play in the league, due to international and domestic commitments.

“In recent weeks, the six franchises of ILT20 have started discussions and engaged with players and players’ agents to exercise their ‘direct acquisition’ rights,” Khalid Al Zarooni, president of the ILT20, said in a statement.

The other names in this “first set” of players are Dawid Malan, Sunil Narine, Evin Lewis, Colin Munro, Fabian Allen, Sam Billings, Tom Curran, Dushmantha Chameera, Akeal Hosein, Tom Banton, Sandeep Lamichhane, Rovman Powell and Bhanuka Rajapaksa.

The statement named 33 more international cricketers who signed up: Lahiru Kumara, Seekugge Prassanna, Charith Asalanka, Isuru Udana and Niroshan Dickwella (from Sri Lanka); Kennar Lewis, Ravi Rampaul, Raymon Reifer, Dominic Drakes and Shelfane Rutherford (from the West Indies); Hazratullah Zazai, Qais Ahmad, Noor Ahmed, Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Naveen-ul-Haq (from Afghanistan); Dan Lawrence, Jamie Overton, Liam Dawson, Richard Gleeson, James Vince, Saqib Mahmood, Ben Duckett and Benny Howell (from England); Bless Muzarabani and Sikandar Raza (from Zimbabwe); Brandon Glover and Frederick Klaasen (from the Netherlands); David Wiese and Ruben Trumpelmann (from Namibia); Colin Ingram (from South Africa); George Munsey (Scotland); Paul Stirling (Ireland); and Ali Khan (USA).

Each squad of 18 will have two players from associated countries and four players from the UAE, but the process of choosing them will begin after more international purchases are announced by the league later this week, the statement said.

“We are very pleased that a select number of representatives from the UAE, from our current pool, will also be considered and signed up to participate in the competition. It is also extremely important to note that these (UAE) players will be part of of the team plays XI,” said Mubashshir Usmani, general secretary of the Emirates Cricket Board. “One of the main objectives of ILT20 is to provide opportunities for players from the UAE and other associated countries to perform on the big stage, and ECB expresses its deep appreciation to the six franchises for supporting our vision to advance our game. grow and create stronger, more competitive players.”

The listing confirmed, lately, that Warner would not be involved in the league and instead would appear in the BBL later this year for the first time since 2013. Reports that Warner would prefer the ILT20 over the BBL resulted in negotiations between the player, CA and the Australian Cricketers’ Association to find a way to let him play in the BBL.
The extent of Moeen’s participation in the competition is unclear. The new CSA league is also believed to have signed Moeen as one of its top stars. Both competitions play simultaneously in January and February and entry is also made more difficult by the English ODI series in South Africa during that period from January to February – matches which are part of the Super League qualifying trajectory for the 2023 World Cup.

There have been suggestions that space for Pakistani players in the league could be limited as franchises owned by IPL owners have been wary of choosing them due to concerns about a backlash in India. An ILT20 official said the franchise owned by Lancer Capital – the Glazers family that own Manchester United – was still hopeful to sign some Pakistani players, although the official acknowledged that it was not getting the NOCs from the PCB could be an obstacle. The PCB said in a statement last week that two Pakistani players had signed up for NOCs to play in the league but were not given them because the board expected the players to be involved in Pakistan’s home season.

The 2023 edition of the ILT20 will feature 34 matches – all teams will face each other twice, for four play-offs, including the final – spanning Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah.

Leave a Comment